CAWG meets with Colorado Congressional Delegation, Chairman of House Ag Committee

February 11, 2008, Centennial, Colo. – Officers of the Colorado Association of Wheat Growers (CAWG) met with the Colorado congressional delegation and House Agricultural Committee Chairman Collin Peterson, D-Minn., while attending the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) meeting in Washington, DC, February 4-7.

CAWG met with members and staff of the Colorado congressional delegation to discuss issues important to Colorado wheat farmers such as timely passage of the 2007 Farm Bill, research funding to Colorado State University for Russian wheat aphid and the Central Great Plains Research Station in Akron, and rail competition.

Our presentations and positions were very well received, said Nick Midcap, CAWG President. Colorados senators and representatives are aware that passing the Farm Bill soon is very important to Colorado wheat farmers.

Chairman Peterson gave CAWG and NAWG members an update on the status of the 2007 Farm Bill. He has been negotiating with the White House for a bill that is acceptable to both the House of Representatives and Senate that wont be vetoed by President Bush.

NAWG officers and a contingent of wheat producers from around the country presented Chairman Peterson with the wheat industrys highest award, 2007 Wheat Leader of the Year, for his service to the wheat industry, particularly for his continued efforts to finalize a new farm bill.

Chairman Peterson understands that agriculture needs an economic safety net, and his work toward the completion of the farm bill is greatly appreciated by our wheat growers, said NAWG President John Thaemert. He has been the strongest driving force throughout this process.

CAWG is a voluntary membership association that lobbies on behalf of wheat growers at the state and national levels of government and provides special programs and benefits to dues paying members.

This entry was posted in Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.