2016 Centennial Farms

Centennial Farms Program

In 1986 the Colorado Centennial Farms program was created by Governor Richard D. Lamm, the Colorado Historical Society (now History Colorado) and the Colorado Department of Agriculture to recognize the important role agriculture has played in our state’s history and economic development. Today, the program is administered by the State Historical Fund, a program of History Colorado. The Colorado Centennial Farms program was the first program of its kind in the nation to give a Historic Structures Award to families who have successfully preserved historic buildings on their farms and ranches. The National Trust for Historic Preservation provides this additional recognition.

Selected nominees are honored each year at the Centennial Farms Celebration at the Colorado State Fair in Pueblo, Colo., in August.

2016 nominees who listed wheat as a farm product:

Allmer Farm and Ranch

Chick Farm and Ranch

Cyrilla and Edith Meis

Dickinson Farm and Ranch

Gates Farm

Kochis Farm

Perlenfein Farm

Saffer Farms


Sleepy Hollow

Stanley and Carol J. Shafer

Thomas Farm


Allmer Family receiving their award at the State Fair


Kochis Family receiving their award at the State Fair


Complete List of 2016 Centennial Farm Awards:

Chick Farm and Ranch 1916 Campo / Baca
Gates Farm 1914 Yuma / Washington
Ohr Family Farm 1912 Lindon / Washington
Sanders-Naugle 1906 Wild Horse / Cheyenne
Saffer Farms 1915 Arriba / Lincoln
Cyrilla and Edith Meis 1915 Yuma / Yuma
Noble Ranch LLC 1912 Yuma / Yuma
Haynes Hereford Ranch 1916 Holyoke / Phillips
Dickinson Farm & Ranch 1913 Crook / Logan
Kochis Farm 1914 Matheson / Elbert
Knoblauch Ranch 1882 Del Norte / Rio Grande
Wacker Farms & Livestock 1905 Brush / Morgan
RLS Ranch LLC (Hillside Ranch) 1916 Yuma / Yuma
Herman G. Peterson Farm/Ranch 1916 Kersey / Weld
Perlenfein Farm 1916 Yuma / Washington
Sleepy Hollow 1904 Ramah / Elbert
Fox Fire Farms 1916 Ignacio / La Plata
Stanley E. and Carol J. Shafer 1910 Laird / Yuma
Koch Farm 1914 Pueblo / Pueblo
Coe Middle Creek Ranch 1913 La Veta / Huerfano
H P Bar Ranch 1906 Sedgwick / Sedgwick
Allmer Farm & Ranch 1916 Briggsdale / Weld
Thomas Farm 1916 Wiggins / Morgan

This entry was posted in Colorado Wheat Blog, News & Events, Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.