NWF Announces National Winners for the 2018 National Wheat Yield Contest

Washington D.C. (November 12, 2018) – The National Wheat Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the United States and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques. Today, NWF is announcing the national winners for the 2018 National Wheat Yield Contest

“A special congratulations to Phillip Gross for being the high yield winner for the third year in a row,” stated Foundation Board President Wayne Hurst. “Phillip’s entry topped the 200 bu/ac level for the first time ever in the Contest. It’s great to see growers who have entered and won in previous years continue to take part in the Contest. We also welcomed several new applicants this year, many of whom won.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the NWYC, and thank our sponsors for helping to make the Contest available to wheat growers in the United States. We received a record-breaking 318 total entries this year and hope that this number will continue to grow,” continued Hurst.

This year’s National winners per category*:

High Yield Winner

Phillip Gross – Adams county, WA
Winter Wheat – Irrigated; 202.53 Bu/A with LCS

Spring Wheat Winners


National Rank First Name Last Name Field County Field State Seed Brand Final Yield**
1 Larry Carroll Morrow OR WestBred 158.9300
2 Keith Gross Adams WA WestBred 172.5600
3 Terry Wilcox Madison ID WestBred 193.3800
4 Monte Leidenix Burleigh ND WestBred 97.0700
5 Alex Bishop Becker MN WestBred 85.5300


National Rank First Name Last Name Field County Field State Seed Brand Final Yield**
1 Jon Wert Hettinger ND LCS 103.9800
2 Orin Knutson Marshall MN WestBred 104.7900
3 Trevor Stout Latah ID WestBred 123.2600
4 Brian Schafer Hayes NE WestBred 67.9500
5 Jason Beechinor Walla Walla WA WestBred 115.7500

Winter Wheat Winners


National Rank First Name Last Name Field County Field State Seed Brand Final Yield**
1 Ken Horton Kearny KS WestBred 111.28
2 Jerry Cooksey Adams CO Plains Gold 134.90
3 Lawrence Pedro Umatilla OR WestBred 194.41
4 Brock Terrell Sheridan NE WestBred 106.72
5 David Gross Spokane WA WestBred 154.51


National Rank First Name Last Name Field County Field State Seed Brand Final Yield**
1  R & K Farms Pine Bluffs WY AgriPro 124.46
2 Jesse Green Lincoln OK WestBred 112.69
3 Rick Horton Leota KS Plains Gold 91.09
4 Brian Cochrane Franklin WA WSU 100.20
5 Randy Bokma Fergus MT WestBred 123.59


The sponsors for the 2018 National Yield Contest are AgriMaxx, Ardent Mills, BASF, Croplan/Winfield, Indigo Ag, Grain Craft, John Deere, LCS, Mennel Milling, Miller Milling, Syngenta, and WestBred.

*It should be noted winners are selected by the percentage increase their yield exceeds the most recent 5-year Olympic county average as determined by USDA.

**Final yield in bushels/acre

The national winners attending the 2019 Commodity Classic will be recognized during a reception celebrating the Contest and its winners. The 2019 Classic will be held in Orlando, Florida from February 28th – March 2nd. Official rules and entry details for the 2019 Contest will be available by January 1st, 2019 at www.yieldcontest.wheatfoundation.org. 

About The Foundation
The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education and outreach. Serving our mission, the Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower centeredness, integrity, honesty and trustworthiness. The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors and managed by staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.

This entry was posted in CAWG Member Articles, Colorado Wheat Blog, News & Events, Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.