2020 Colorado Wheat County Meetings and Elections

Colorado wheat farmers are invited to attend and participate in the annual county business meetings and elections jointly sponsored by the Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee (CWAC), the Colorado Association of Wheat Growers (CAWG) and the Colorado Wheat Research Foundation (CWRF). The business meetings and elections will be held January 21-23, 2020, at seven different locations.  Please see the table below for full details.

The program at the meetings will include:

  • A presentation on Wheat Economics and Marketing with Dr. Brent Young
  • New PlainsGold Variety Offerings
  • Best management practices for the CoAXium® Wheat Production System
  • CAWG state and national policy update.

County-level representatives for both CWAC and CAWG will also be elected at these meetings. CWAC and CAWG are two distinctly separate organizations with different but complementary purposes. CWAC is the Commissioner-appointed Board of Control for the Colorado Wheat Marketing Order, whose purpose is to oversee how Colorado’s wheat assessment dollars (two cents per bushel of wheat produced in the state) are spent on research, market development, outreach, education and other various endeavors.

Colorado Association of Wheat Growers is comprised of dues-paying members who are politically active, focusing on policy that impacts wheat producers and agriculture in general.

2020 Annual County Meetings (A complimentary meal will be served at each meeting)

Date Time County Location
Tuesday, Jan. 21 8:00 a.m. Weld, Larimer, Boulder and Morgan Country Steak Out- Fort Morgan

19592 E 8th Ave

  12:00 p.m. Washington and Yuma St. John’s Lutheran Education Building – Yuma

508 S Ash St,

  6:00 p.m. Phillips, Sedgwick and Logan Community Center – Haxtun

125 East Wilson Street

Wednesday, Jan. 22 12:00 p.m. Cheyenne and Kit Carson Community Center – Burlington

340 S. 14th Street

  6:00 p.m. Baca Lions Den – Springfield 

200 Main Street

Thursday, Jan. 23 8:00 a.m. Prowers, Bent and Kiowa Community Center – Lamar

610 S. 6th Street

  12:00 p.m. Lincoln, Elbert, El Paso, Adams and Arapahoe Community Center – Limon

477 D. Avenue

This entry was posted in Archive. Bookmark the permalink.