The Colorado Wheat Research Foundation (CWRF) was formed by the Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee in 1988, to further educational and scientific programs related to wheat.

A new era in the development and distribution of wheat seed began in August, 1995 with the signing of an historic agreement involving proprietary protection for new wheat varieties (cultivars) developed at Colorado State University (CSU).

The Colorado Wheat Cultivar Program consists of a process that begins at CSU with the development of new wheat varieties. CWRF moves the process forward by acquiring ownership of the varieties and applying for protection. From there, CWRF coordinates distribution of foundation and registered seed to eligible certified seed growers while the Colorado Seed Growers Association (CSGA) provides seed certification and marketing services to its participating members.

Royalties from the sale of certified seed included in the Wheat Cultivar Program are collected by CWRF and net royalties are returned to CSU. The process comes full circle as CSU utilizes those funds for the advancement of wheat-related research. Successful research that has been, and will continue to be, beneficial to wheat producers.

Royalties For Research

CWRF collects fees and royalties (generally 30-60 cents per bushel on certified seed) from the sale by certified seed growers of wheat varieties included in the Colorado Wheat Cultivar Program. After deducting its actual expenses, CWRF returns the remaining funds to CSU. The majority of those funds support wheat-related research programs at CSU and provide royalties to those researchers who developed the new protected varieties. The Colorado Wheat Cultivar Program has added a total of $550,000 to support the wheat breeding program and wheat related research, in addition to funding provided by the Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee (CWAC) to CSU.


The CWRF board of directors is comprised of the executive committees of CWAC, the Colorado Association of Wheat Growers (CAWG) and the Colorado Seed Growers Association (CSGA). A president, vice president and secretary-treasurer are elected annually with terms of office that run concurrently with the fiscal year of July 1-June 30.