Wheat Assessment

Wheat Subject to Assessment

Wheat grown in the 32 Colorado counties covered by the Colorado Wheat Marketing Order are subject to assessment. The counties include: Adams, Arapahoe, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Cheyenne, Crowley, Custer, Douglas, El Paso, Elbert, Fremont, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Logan, Moffat, Morgan, Otero, Phillips, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Routt, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, and Yuma.

Assessment Rate

The current assessment rate is two cents per bushel.

Refundable Assessment

A producer may request a refund of that portion of the assessment withheld which exceeds one-half cent per bushel (currently one and one-half cents per bushel).

Producers can request an “Application for Refund of Wheat Assessment” (ARWA) form by contacting the Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee (CWAC) by one of 2 ways:

Mailing a written request to

4026 South Timberline Road, Suite 100
Fort Collins, CO 80525

E-mailing a written request to


Producers must submit a completed ARWA form, along with proof of assessment withheld, within 30 days of the date of assessment to be eligible for refund. The date of assessment is the actual date of wheat sale or date wheat was placed under loan by the FSA.

Assessment Collection & Remittance

Wheat assessment is collected by the “first handler” (typically an elevator or feedlot) directly from the producer and then remitted to the Colorado Wheat Administrative Committee (CWAC). A “Wheat Assessment Reporting Form” and full instructions can be obtained from CWAC.