Colorado Wheat Logo

The National Wheat Foundation Now Accepting Applications for Scholarship Honoring Ag Students

Washington, D.C. – The National Wheat Foundation is now accepting applications for the Jerry Minore Scholarship, honoring students pursuing a career in agriculture. The scholarship is available to college students for the 2023 academic year, with an application deadline of December 31, 2022. Interested students can apply under the Education and Scholarships tab on the National Wheat Foundation website.

“The scholarship is meant to support students’ efforts who have a passion for agriculture in their studies,” said Joe Kejr, Chairman of the National Wheat Foundation. “We hope to see these students play a key role in developing sound ag policy, research new technologies, or other discoveries important to wheat growers, agriculture, and society.”

The late Jerry Minore was a BASF Senior Market Manager and a liaison to the wheat industry. Since his unexpected death in 2012, BASF has partnered with the National Wheat Foundation to fund scholarships and honor his advocacy efforts for wheat growers.

“We are proud to partner with the National Wheat Foundation to find students who have shown a commitment to our industry and a willingness to honor Jerry’s legacy and enthusiasm for agriculture,” said Jeff Blackwood, BASF Policy Lead, Government Affairs and National Wheat Foundation Board Member. “BASF is proud to invest in the best and brightest ag students to help them achieve their career goals. We hope these students will make positive and important innovations in the agriculture industry.”


About the National Wheat Foundation

The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education, and outreach. The Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education, and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower-centeredness, integrity, honesty, and trustworthiness.

The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, overseen by Chandler Goule, Executive Director, and managed by Anne Osborne, project manager, who is assisted by the staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.

Share Article:

More News